Monday, 16 April 2012

Kershaw kicks off BCCC season with Pikes Peak win

Richard Kershaw took what in the end proved to be a comfortable win ahead of 2011 champion Ian Rochelle in the opening round of the Britpart MSA British Cross Country Championship.

The event was held on a testing course in Myherin forest which featured a mix of gravel forest roads and technical off-road sections. With temperatures just above freezing and snow in the air it was Kershaw who was in the lead after the opening run in his Milner R5 and Rochelle was just two seconds behind. Kershaw continued to build his lead throughout the opening day, his charge for the win only diminished by a broken front shaft on run 4 which lost him some time.

Rochelle hopes for a win were wrecked when his car suffered mechanical problems on the final run of day one which meant Kershaw took a good lead into the second day.

Rochelle’s trouble’s continued on day two with the car running on three cylinders on some runs and several punctures. Justin Birchall moved up to second but he too suffered problems, taking a maximum as his car had to be recovered.

At the front of the leaderboard Kershaw had a troublefree drive on day two’s six runs and took the win by over five minutes from Rochelle.

"It’s been a good weekend and a good course," commented Kershaw. "Other than the shaft problem we had a clear run, we kept it tidy and didn’t pick up any punctures."

Ryan Cooke continued his 2011 form to claim third place in his Land Rover. Steve Smith was fourth with Martin Cox in fifth in his Tornado Evo 1.

In the Trophy championship Alan Thomas took the win with Ben Gott victorious in the Clubman class. Alistair Myers won the Freelander Challenger category.

BCCC Results:

1 Richard Kershaw/Jonny Koonja (Milner R5) 2h 00m 47s
2 Ian Rochelle/Chris Hammond (Millington Phoenix) +5m 35s;
3 Ryan Cooke/Chris Cooke (Land Rover Defender) +12m 30s;
4 Steve Smith/John Griffiths (JRG Indy Focus) +15m 52s:
5 Martin Cox/Paul Carson (Tornado Evo 1) +17m 49s;
6 Justin Birchall/Tom Neathway (Peugeot M206 Evo) +18m 09s;
7 Mike Moran/Tony Coid (AT 4x4 Indy Challenger) +18m 10s;
8 Andy Powell/Richard Heath (Simmbugghini) +19m 16s;
9 Greg Morris/Emma Garrett (Bowler Wildcat) +19m 46s;
10 Phil Ibbotson/Will Jefferson (Metro 6R4 Evo) +21m 46s

Trophy winner: Alan Thomas (Warrior Gemini)
Clubman winner: Ben Gott (TMC Minx)
Freelander Challenge winner: Alistair Myers (Land Rover Freelander)