Friday, 11 March 2016

Entries levels already higher than 2015

With one month to go until the start of the season organisers of the Britpart MSA British Cross Country Championship have released information on the drivers who have entered the BCCC, BCC Trophy and Freelander Challenge so far. Entry levels are already higher than 2015, with 31 cars spread across the three championships.

In the BCCC Mike Moran will be returning to try and make it three titles in a row. With his championship-winning car sold Moran is having a new machine built by Lofthouse Motorsport which will hopefully be ready for round 1. Joining Moran will be several championship regulars such as Paul Harris, Richard Green and Steve Smith together with some drivers who are either new to the championship or are returning after a break. Amongst these is Martin Gould in his new Rivet-BMW and brother Colin who'll be driving the Audi-engine Clio previously raced by Martin. Richard Coleby will make his BCCC debut in his factory Polaris and Justin Birchall will make a full return to the championship in his Lofthouse Freelander.

2015 BCC Trophy winner Nick Pritchard will defend his title and he'll be joined by the likes of Jon Damrel in his Insanity Racing Tornado and Phill Bayliss who'll be out in his Land Rover.

Ten cars have so far registered for the Freelander Challenge including 2014/15 champion Ian Linford who has fitted a V6 engine in his car for this season. Ravenol's Brian Chase will be joining in the Freelander fun along with several other new crews.

All three championships start in April at Myherin forest, entries are still available - regulations can be downloaded from

In addition to the championships a Clubman event will also run at each round. Interest has already been strong in the round 1 Clubman event with Phil Ibbotson, Toby Jefferson, Sian Rogers and Martin Cox planning on entering.

Entries as at 11th March:

Martin Gould
Colin Gould...
Paul Myers
Mike Moran
Richard Wynne Williams
Justin Birchall
Paul Harris
Richard Green
Steve Smith
John Thorne
Alan Thomas
Richard Coleby
Ben Duckworth
Mark Jacques
Neil Davey

Andy Powell

BCC Trophy
Jon Damrel
Nick Pritchard
Steve Anning
Phill Bayliss
Ben Clay

Freelander Challenge
Ian Linford
Louisa Felice
Pat Masters
Brian Chase
Alastair Myers
Michael Wilson
Paul Cumpstone
Alex Howard
Richard Roberts
Graham White